In the News: Against Ruth Graham’s “Against YA”

When I first read Ruth Graham’s “Against YA” in Slate, I was irate and indignant. That feeling hasn’t really gone away so I’m continuously glad to read articles defending the genre.

One of the best I’ve read so far is Lori Day’s “Grownups: You Can Read YA and Why Not Read It With Your Kids?” in the Huffington Post. Not that I have kids, but she brings up a good point that reading YA with your kids both encourages them to read more and helps forge a stronger connection between parents and children.

Additionally, I think she does a great job at articulating a few points that were my main argument when I first read Graham’s piece. Namely that there are good and bad novels of any genre, so you can’t paint them all with the same brush, and additionally that many of today’s novels that are considered “Classics” were geared toward a younger audience at the time that they were written.

At the end of the day, maybe YA isn’t your cup of tea, but it isn’t worth dismissing out of hand since it does make meaningful contributions to literary society.

Leave a Reply

