Weekend Update: Billy Joel!

Billy Joel: The BiographyI’m not even exaggerating when I say that I’ve been waiting for this weekend all summer. Back in dark and winter-stormy January, when all I could do was dream about sunshine and baseball and outdoor concerts, my friend and I bought tickets to see Billy Joel at Nationals Park. He has been my favorite musician since at least middle school, and seeing him live is the best All-American nostalgic summer dream I could imagine.

A year or two ago, I read “Billy Joel: The Biography” by Mark Bego. From a literary standpoint, it didn’t rank among the best written biographies I’ve read, but from a fan’s standpoint, it was a fascinating  read that allowed me to learn more about the man behind the music and how he drew inspiration for his songs from his life.

Leave a Reply

