In the News: “The Giver” in film

Like many children who grew up in the ’90s, I became a huge fan of Lois Lowry after reading The Giver Quartet and Number the Stars. Her writing style was simultaneously deft and evocative, and I could strongly relate to the difficulties of growing up as experienced by her characters, although my life was far removed from the horrors of a dystopia or the Holocaust.

Continuing the trend of turning beloved books into films, The Giver was recently released to mixed reviews. Based on the previews alone, I was skeptical – how can you turn a colorless world into a color-filled movie? Add to that the copious amounts of action in the trailer, none of which I recall from the book, I feel like I’m doomed to be disappointed.  The Daily Beast’s Kevin Fallon, who has seen the movie, just solidified my expectations in “Why ‘The Giver’ Movie Will Disappoint the Book’s Fans.” Warning, it contains spoilers!

I’ve pretty much made up my mind not to see the movie, or at least wait until I can rent it instead of going to the theater. However, it’s worth pointing out that Lowry gave it her stamp of approval. You can read about her feelings on the adaption here.

Leave a Reply

