Weekend Update: Liebster Award Nomination

Howdy! I guess I’ve been hiding under a rock in the Interwebs because I’d never heard of this meme (?) until now. My thanks to both Kelly of dancingthroughthepages and The Bodacious Book Babe/Addicted to Ink for nominating me!

Since I was nominated twice and I’m feeling lazy, I’m going to pick and choose between the questions these gals asked me 🙂

For the uninitiated, The Rules:

  1. Link and thank the blogger that nominated you
  2. Answer the 11 questions your nominator gives you
  3. Tag 11 other bloggers who have 200 or less followers
  4. Ask the 11 nominated bloggers 11 questions and tell them you’ve nominated them

Onto The Questions:

1. What is a really underrated book that you would love to see on the big screen? Why?

I don’t think this book/series is necessarily underrated, since I know tons of women who love it, but I’m surprised and dismayed that Tamora Pierce’s Song of the Lioness quartet (or any of her other books) haven’t made it to the big screen. It’s YA, which is popular these days, and has a strong female lead and an exciting plot – everything a movie audience could love!

2. What is something in a book that has to be well-done for you to like it? (For me, it’s characterization.) Is it plot, setting, characters, etc?

Definitely characters that I enjoy reading about. They have to be realistic and, to some degree, understandable, even if they’re actually horrible people.

3. Is there a book that you’ve tried to read innumerable times but have never been able to finish? What is it?

I pride myself on almost never not finishing a book, but Doris Kearns Goodwin’s Team of Rivals has me beat. The parts I’ve read have been amazing, and I loved the movie Lincoln with Daniel Day-Lewis. Plus I have a huge girl-crush on her as a person. But I keep checking it out of my library and getting through a few chapters before it’s due (it’s so long!) and then I can’t renew it because EVERYONE else wants it. I should probably just buy it at this point.

4. If you estimate, what is most books you’ve ever checked out from your library?

At once or in my life? I can’t even guess the latter, but I’ve probably had 30 (the maximum) checked out at once. It gets embarrassing because I put them on hold and now my local librarians know me as that girl and give me shit about “am I really going to finish all of them?” Well, duh.

5. What is your favorite book setting? (Stuff like this -> Fantasy AU, Boarding School, Hollywood, New York, Foreign Countries, etc.)

While I do love fantasy settings, mostly because I want to live in them (still waiting for my Hogwarts letter!), I also love boarding school settings. I assume this is a lingering childhood fantasy based off of Enid Blyton novels and exacerbated by Harry Potter.

6. What book or series do you hate the most? Why?

Twilight. It’s poor quality of writing, flat characters, and dumb plot are all irritating, but worst of all is that it’s blatantly anti-feminist. Not only is Edward a creepy stalker who should’ve been given a restraining order, Bella’s entire persona is sculpted around her devotion to a man.

7. Hard copies or ebooks? Why?

Definitely hard copies. I’ll bring my Kindle for long trips because I read so fast that I’d otherwise need to lug around multiple physical books, but I still love the smell and heft of paper.

8. What’s one book you would read to make you feel better if you were having a bad day?

Jennifer Close’s Girls in White Dresses. I love how reflective it is of millennial life – it makes me laugh and gives me hope that even the terrible, awkward things will pass.

9. How many books (estimate) do you currently own? How many have you actually read?

In my tiny, cramped apartment – probably 40. Overall? Well, my parents recently moved and my mom complained that she packed 9 boxes full of my books so probably at least a few hundred. There’s probably about 10 total out of those that I haven’t read.

10. What are your top three favorite genres?

Fantasy, historical fiction, and biography/memoir.

11. Who is your favorite author and why?

Probably Agatha Christie because I love her characters and plot twists. I can reread them endlessly and still enjoy them. Close runners-up are George R.R. Martin, A.J. Jacobs, P.G. Wodehouse, William Faulkner, and Tamora Pierce.

 

Now, I don’t know if I know 11 bloggers, but my questions for those I choose are as follows:

1. If you could only bring 3 books with you to a deserted island, what would they be?

2. If you could be any character, who would it be?

3. How many books do you think you’ve read in your life?

4. What was the most memorable book you’ve read and why?

5. What was your favorite childhood book?

6. What book were you forced to read (i.e. in high school/college, for a book club, etc.) that you surprisingly loved?

7. Have there been any super-popular books that you’ve hated? Ex. Harry Potter, Gone Girl, etc.

8. What is your favorite book to screen (either TV or movie) adaptation?

9. On average, how fast do you read?

10. What book do you recommend most often to your friends, family, the Internet?

11. What do you love most about book blogging?

 

Blogs I’m tagging (thanks in advance for playing along!):

Blogs of a bookaholic

chitownbooks

lulusrantsandreads

fromatozbooks

yabookaddicts

If you aren’t listed but want to join in on the fun, shoot me a comment and I can add a link to your site!

One thought on “Weekend Update: Liebster Award Nomination

Leave a Reply

