Best Books of 2014

Howdy, y’all! I’m feeling warm and happy after migrating down South for the holidays, and much looking forward to the new year 🙂

Goodreads kindly sent me an email summary of the books I’ve read in 2014 – I hit 94! Don’t tell, but I’m going to cheat and round to 100, which sounds more impressive. And I’m nearly at 100 posts too, despite only writing this blog for the latter half of the year. So exciting!

In honor of 2014, here are my favorite reads in each genre with links to my reviews:

Contemporary: A Guide to the Birds of East Africa

Fantasy: The Curse of Chalion (close runners-up: The Emperor’s Blades and The City of Stairs)

Historical Fiction: The Visitors

Horror: Dracula

Mystery: Big Little Lies

Nonfiction: War of the Whales (close runner-up: Dream Team)

YA Contemporary: Great (close runner-up: Love Letters to the Dead)

YA Fantasy: tie between Deep Blue and The Paper Magician

If you haven’t gotten around to these in 2014, I highly recommend all of them for 2015. With fingers crossed for another year of great new books, Happy New Year!!!

Leave a Reply

